Anchorage Memories VIP Club Podcast
Anchorage Memories Podcast
The Anchorage Film Caper
0:00
-6:44

The Anchorage Film Caper

When you were a teenager, did you ever do anything that you thought about later in life, laughed and said to yourself, “that was dumb.”

Author Mike Dougherty tells you this story.

The Anchorage Film Caper takes you on a spooky but humor-filled adventure through the basement of the deserted and badly damaged McKinley building following the 1964 Alaska earthquake.

When you were a teenager, did you ever do anything that you thought about later in life, laughed and said to yourself, “that was dumb.” Well, this story would be one of those moments.

In “The Anchorage Film Caper”, author, Michael R. Dougherty was a teen when he was sent into the abandoned basement of the McKinley Building after that building was badly damaged after the 1964 earthquake.

Mike was given a holstered 357 Magnum pistol to take with him. Do you see any potential trouble?

Read the Story

by Michael R Dougherty

There was someone lurking in the dark, empty corridor of the spooky abandoned building in downtown Anchorage, Alaska… or was there?

With a can filled with 16mm film clutched tightly under my left arm and a 357 magnum in my shaky right hand, I was ready for action as I nervously made my way to the KTVA channel 11 TV station film processor.

My destination was located in the all but empty basement of what was left of the downtown McKinley building following the 1964 Great Alaskan Earthquake.

Yes, You Can Share this Edition

Everyone likes to listen to a story.

So give your friends and family a treat, by sharing this story with them.

Thank you for reading Anchorage Memories VIP Club. This post is public, so feel free to share it.

Share

The Story Continues

At 18 years of age, I went to work at KTVA channel 11. It was after the earthquake and the downtown McKinley building, where KTVA and KNIK-FM were located, had been badly damaged. Following the quake, the building was unoccupied except for the studios and offices of channel 11 and KNIK-FM radio, where both were located on the building's first floor.

Not long after the earthquake, homeless people, drunks, and others would sometimes make their way into the building.

One night during KTVA's 10:00pm live news, an intoxicated man actually managed to make his way into the TV studio where he parted the curtains and stumbled onto the live TV news set. The man saw the lights and the cameras pointing at him, and said “huh?”, then turned and left the same way he stumbled in. And all on live TV.

My Anchorage Film Caper began one late afternoon.

Franklin Butte, the Chief Engineer, handed me a metal film can filled with unprocessed 16mm news film and told me to take it to the film processor which was located in the depths of the building.

I wasn't thrilled with the idea. But I took the film can and started for the basement when Frank stopped me with “hold it Mike… you may need this” and with that, he handed me a leather holstered 357 Magnum pistol.

Wide-eyed, I asked “what do I need this for?”

Frank shrugged his shoulders and said, “there may be drunks, burglars or who knows what down there”.

I managed a hard gulp, turned and started for the door to the basement, trying to act like what Frank had just said didn't bother me. But it did. A lot.

A few minutes later, as I reached the door to the basement, my imagination had kicked into high gear. What if I opened the door and someone was hiding in the stairwell? I nervously reached out and grabbed hold of the door nob.

Slowly I gave it a turn.

Gradually I opened the door and peered slowly into the beginning of the stairwell. The few shafts of dim light played games with my already nervous teenage mind. It looked like I was about to descend into the bowls of a dark, terrifying world.

Quickly I stepped into the stairwell, put the film can down on the floor, then stood back up and strapped on the gun holster. I bent back down and snatched up the cold, metal film can, took a deep breath and started my slow descent. One reluctant step at a time.

Later I found myself in an all too dark, dusty and very vacant hallway. I was breathing hard as I pulled the trusty 357 Magnum out of its holster and pointed the barrel toward my imaginary terror.

Then just like all the detectives in movies and TV shows, I started making my way down the hall, darting from side-to-side, pasted myself up against the wall at each corner of every hallway. Then I would jump out from the wall with my trusty gun in hand and still raised.

Like an idiot, I did that all the way down one hallway and then the other. I don't know how, but eventually, I found my way to the film processing room.

A strange sort of relief came over me as I ripped open the door and ran into the room where I quickly and nervously threw the 16mm film can on the counter, turned and ran back out into the hall.

Then I ran as fast as I could, like the scared chicken I was. I ran down the halls and then up the stairwell as fast as my wobbly legs would carry me.

At the top of the stairwell once again, I grabbed the door nob, pulled the door open as fast as I could and leaped into the lobby like a gun-totting ballet dancer.

Much to my relief, I was safely out of the basement. I composed myself as best I could and even unbuckled the gun belt in case someone saw me.

Moments later, I was still breathing hard, but I was safely back in the KTVA studios.

What a combination for disaster. A dark, earthquake ravaged, vacant building, a nervous, gun-toting 18-year-old idiot and whoever the poor soul was that my teenage imagination might encounter.

Thankfully, I was never asked to return to that spooky basement again. But I still have nightmares. Only now I'm the Anchorage, Alaska version of detective Sam Spade… no one would dare bother me.

The End

BONUS

At Anchorage Memories.com you can read more stories from 1964 earthquake survivors.

Take a look at the 1964 Earthquake in Anchorage, Alaska and discover.

From Our North Stars (that’s you)

From “My Alaska Commercial Fishing Adventure”

Rick sent us this comment:

“The toughest job for me (on the purse seiner fishing boat) was the long cork plunger and Caspar would keep yelling at me, “keep plunging, kid”.

I felt like my arms would fall off my body. The easiest job was jumping in the power skiff with a tow-line and keeping the boat from getting into the net. Those were the days. I loved it”.

And Jerry sent in this story request:

“There has to be a story on the Seldovia air strip.”

Connect with Us

This is Mike and Mary of Anchorage Memories,

The Anchorage Film Caper is a fun story, and listening to Mike tell his story made it even more fun.

Do you have a comment? You can get in touch with us by replying to this email.

Or, You can Contact Us right now to say, “I’m a 1964 earthquake survivor too.”

Until Next Time

Mike and Mary

Anchorage Memories.com

0 Comments
Anchorage Memories VIP Club Podcast
Anchorage Memories Podcast
A treasure chest of narrated anchorage and Alaska memories. and adventures